Skip to main content

Kazuo Ishiguro

Kazuo Ishiguro is a Nobel Prize Winning British Novelist, Screenwriter, and Short Story Writer. He was born in Nagasaki, Japan his family moved to England in 1960. Ishiguro graduated from the University of Kent with a bachelor's degree in English and Philosophy in 1978 and Gained his Master's from the University of East Anglia's Creative Writing Course in 1980.
Ishiguro is Considered One of the Most celebrated Contemporary Fiction authors in the English-speaking world, having received Four Man Booker Prize nominations and winning the 1989 award for his novel The Remains of the Day. His 2005 novel, Never Let Me Go, was named by Time as the Best novel of 2005 and included in its list of the 100 best English-language novels from 1923 to 2005. His seventh novel, The Buried Giant, was Published in 2015. Growing up in a Japanese family in the UK was Crucial to his writing, as he says, enabling him to see things from a different perspective to many of his British peers.
He has also Written two Original screenplays for Channel 4 Television, A Profile of Arthur J. Mason, broadcast in 1984, and The Gourmet, broadcast in 1986. He was awarded the OBE in 1995 for services to literature and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. His work has been Translated into over 30 languages.
In 2017, the Swedish Academy Awarded Ishiguro the Nobel Prize in Literature, Describing him in its citation as a writer "who, in novels of great Emotional force, has Uncovered the abyss Beneath Our illusory Sense of Connection With The World"


Popular posts from this blog

Human Rights

Indian Wrestling Kushti

Islamic Culture